reshaping my life: week 12

I’m still at the same number weight wise, but I can tell that I just kick started again and over the weekend lost a few ounces (oooo! haha). I recently ran the farthest I have ever ran in my life: 7.3 miles. I’m pretty stoked about that.

Since the weather here has been so dreary, I started doing a mixture of Pilates and running. I try to get out and run at least three or four times per week, going between 5 and 7 1/2 miles. The Pilates I started doing really kicks my butt! Funny that I can run 7 miles, but then I was just dying during a 45 minute Pilates video. It is cardio/fat burn Pilates which concentrates on getting your heart rate up while doing toning moves. There is a lot of ballet incorporated which I love.

I’ve been doing the Pilates for about two weeks now and already feel such a difference. So while I haven’t gone down on the scale, I’ve lost inches in almost every place.

As for eating, I’ve been continuing to pray for discipline. It really feels great to have control and say “no” to unhealthy choices. I try to remember how good that feels and also, how bad guilt feels after eating something I shouldn’t have or too much.

A few big tips that keep me going: 

1. Exercise in the morning. I’m taking advantage of Audrey waking up at 6:30 a.m. now. I’m off for a run! If I don’t exercise first thing, it won’t happen.

2. Plan your meals. I pretty much plan every dinner for two weeks and then keep to the same stuff for lunches and breakfast. On running days, I energize with bananas, Greek yogurt and granola or a piece of whole grain toast. On Pilates days, I stick to more protein and less carbohydrates since I’m not needing as much fuel or burning as many calories.

3. Calories in & calories out. I’m not saying you have to calorie count, but it does really help that I know how many calories approximately that I am burning during my run and on those days, allow a little more flexibility. On days I don’t workout or do Pilates, I really pay closer attention to my food choices. It really is as simple as calories in and calories out when you want to lose weight.

4. Get motivation. Whether it is a workout partner, a book, music, etc… use something you know that will motivate you. If you aren’t feeling like exercising, listen to that certain song, read that verse or a good motivator for me- other bloggers. There is nothing like another momma out there trying to lose weight and exercising her booty off (literally). That motivates me! “If she can do it, I can do it!”

5. Remember that slow and steady wins the race. I’ve learned to appreciate the long haul. Instead of wanting results RIGHT NOW and not being content, God has given me peace to slow down, not push as hard and appreciate my body now. That makes the largest difference when making a healthy lifestyle change. Every day I work on being healthier, running until I am tired and eating until I am satisfied (not full). Try not to run yourself into the ground exercising or dieting – that leads to failure.

9 thoughts on “reshaping my life: week 12

  1. Love your blog! I have an almost 11 month old girl and I'm training for a 10 mile race, however I had to put it on hold for a week or two because I sold my old jogger and am waiting for the upgrade to arrive.Thanks for the inspiration and transparency!

  2. I'm contemplating training for a 5k for 2012 with my 13 year old – she's far more excited about it than I am so far! Love the tips and find they're some of the ones I come back to over and over.

  3. Okay I'm really jealous that you're out running, lol. I've been wanting to get out and get some exercise, get my pre-baby body back (or at least some resemblance would be nice). I had a baby boy 4 months ago and I'm not loving my lack of motivation or flabby self. My main problem is getting the courage to get outside and run, I'm kind of embarrassed about it and can easily talk myself out of it – I do, after all, have a baby who neeeeds me. 🙂 (I'm in Oregon, too…!)

  4. Wonderfully, inspiring post. I'll definitely take some of these tips to heart. Good luck with the half marathon training! I hope to be in that spot one day.

  5. Pilates and Running are my main work-outs too! I am actually begining training to become a Pilates Instructor this summer. Getting paid to work-out doing an exercise I love, and know works? yes please! Good luck on training for the half!! I'm excited for you!

  6. Woo hoo! Congrats on the decision to do a half marathon! Mine is scheduled for October and I'm very nervous, but also excited about it. I've been doing the half marathon training app on my iPhone. It's pretty decent. But so far I'm only running 5 miles. I think the next week or two has some longer runs scheduled. All great tips. Especially getting the workout done first thing. That's been my success. I always do better with staying disciplined with my workout schedules when I do it first thing in the morning. Good luck! :)Blessings,Rosann

comments welcome

