reshaping it all: still going

Awhile back it became clear to me: I was asking for the wrong thing. Matthew 21:22 says, “If you believe, you will receive whatever you ask in prayer.”

First, believe. Believe in God, believe in His Word and believe in yourself. The stronger and deeper your belief goes is what changes the next part.

Whatever you ASK in prayer. The better you know His Word (i.e., the more you believe), the better you know what to ask for.

All these years, I had been focusing on the wrong thing. And a part of me knew it too because I didn’t like to pray about it. I didn’t want to present God with my pity party. I figured, “How selfish when I can be praying about the health of my family and all the problems of the world- why would I pray about my weight and image?”

Reading, He began to speak to me. The words “discipline” and “perseverance” kept appearing. I realized, wanting to be thin, creating a better image of myself was not what I needed. I was focusing entirely on the wrong thing and that was directing me in the wrong way like unhealthy diets, low self-esteem, etc…

I soon realized THAT is what I needed to be praying for. Strength to keep exercising, guidance to make healthy choices, courage to say “no.” Discipline. Perseverance.

My game plan had changed. Those were things I needed to present to God! Not, “God, please help me get into a pair of size 4 jeans.” You can’t build something without the proper tools. You don’t ask for a new house, you ask for the tools and material – then He will guide you on how to use them.

I’m still working on it. Discipline is incredibly hard, however, I have found having it to be one of the most beautiful things. Nothing makes me feel healthier or more beautiful than when I have the strength to run that extra mile or say “no” to a certain food choice.

So, what are you asking for? Whatever it is, break it down, tear it apart and look at the basic structure. The foundation is what you need first (God) and then it is the materials. Keep persevering and being consistent with prayer. Pretty soon, you’ll have all the tools and materials you need to build and strong and healthy you.

One thought on “reshaping it all: still going

comments welcome

