mine…mine…mine

I really didn’t know when this moment would ever come, but it is almost here: My husband and I are in the process of getting a new car.

Making me a happy 16-year-old, I got my mom’s 1991 Honda Accord handed down to me. It barely had any miles and treated me very well for nearly 10 years. I put it up for sale last week and in only a few hours, it was gone.

I kind of miss it! Don’t get me wrong, I am so over racing around with a stick shift and ready for a mommy-mobile, but that car had been in the family for twenty years and went through so many memories. For now, I am driving the Ford F150 – camo seat covers and making my neck look a little too red- so let’s hurry up with the new car, eh?

However, I’ve had a few moments I’ve had to step back. Through this process, I’ve been reminded to pay attention to a lot of actions. For one, I need to concentrate on needs and not wants. While some wants are not a bad thing, setting the needs first is the most important. We are blessed to be able to be in the position to get a new vehicle and so easily can materialism get in the way.

Just like our house situation, I had my sights set on newer, bigger homes. I had to step back and let God lead the way. Once I did that, our perfect little cottage arrived. When God wasn’t really in my life or maybe it also has to do with getting older and wiser, I thought a new car would change my image, make me feel better, etc… Isn’t that crazy that we are brought up in a society where we think these objects will make things better? I’ll take what God gives us, as long as it is  not a minivan (no offense to other blog moms!).

The other, bigger action I’m working on is that this is “our” car. Even though it is mostly for me, marriage makes everything “ours” and I’m trying to stop with the “me’s,” “I’s,” and “mine’s.” My husband used to joke with me that I was like the seagulls on Finding Nemo, “mine…mine…mine.” 

God made marriage to be a partnership and husband’s to be the leader in that partnership. God, please help to humble me through this process and not get swept up in the materialism of society; help me to trust You and my husband, and be aware of selfish words or thoughts- always including my teammate in decisions. Amen. 
comments welcome

