A Christmas miracle

IMG_2076I was waiting for a Christmas miracle story to share. Everyone loves a story of triumph, of a God-true miracle during this time of year.

I couldn’t find one. Time clicking by in department store lines, decorating, Christmas parties, traffic, volunteering, wrapping, sending cards and wrapping some more. Why couldn’t I find one?

The black hole of busyness swallowing me whole, choking out what this season is really about: love. And not just any kind of love, God-giving-His-Son-for-us kind of love. That love is huge, and I’m supposed to be embracing that right now?

How can I with the list of to-do’s, the presents I still have to get, the travel arrangements, the baking and the haunt of Pinterest pressuring me to make crafts and redecorate?

A friend’s words ring in my head like a bell, “Let go of the good to make room for the best.”

I am doing good. I am getting presents, I am giving my time – but am I choosing what is best? Am I choosing joy, thankfulness and that huge-love? Am I choosing faith first?

“Oh yes, I know you, the busyness of your life leaving little room for the source of your life.” 1 These words stare at me and then knock me down.

Time is life, and we don’t know how much we have. We let the days just eat us alive with stuff until it is too late, and this is especially true during the most precious time of year.

The beautiful Christmas tree sits aglow in my house, causing me to be still for a moment. I breathe and wonder how I can slow down time. A little girl is now two-and-a-half, waltzing around the house in her princess dress. How can I slow it down?

“We are merely moving shadows, and all our busy rushing ends in nothing.” Psalm 39:6 (NLT)

I nod and agree when Ann Voskamp said: “I don’t really want more time, I just want enough time. Time to breathe deep and time to see real and time to laugh long, time to give You glory and rest deep and sing joy and just enough time in a day not to feel hounded, pressed, driven, or wild to get it all done – yesterday.” 1

IMG_2072

It is our choice to overcome the mundane, urgent, depression, family stress and “I just want Christmas to be over,” and feel real joy. We wake up and have the choice.

And when you make the right choice, when you put faith, hope and thankfulness for whatever your situation is, in your heart and a smile on your face – time slows.

And when time slows, I feel the joy and I see the miracle story. I see it every day.

I see it in the friend who has forgiven; I see it in the new mother; I see it in the child who is heart-broken by another country’s tragedy and is collecting every pop can in the city to help; I see it in the answered prayer and the woman fighting cancer who has enormous hope. Most of all I see it in my waltzing princess and hear it in the heartbeat of our unborn.

I hope you will make the choice to not let the holiday drown you in busyness, tears or frustration, but wake up and let Christmas light joy in your soul. Making that choice is a miracle.

Merry Christmas.

IMG_2075

IMG_2073

IMG_2081

One thought on “A Christmas miracle

comments welcome

