the miracle of the pinecone

You are enough.

But am I? I’ve been told it many times. I am enough, no need to strive to be something perfect. God loves me, and I am enough right here belly growing, body aching, sweat pants, hormones raging.

The list on the fridge begs me to take it down, but I won’t.

The top 10 selfish acts:

1. Self-Will

2. Self-Seeking

3. Self-Assertion

4. Self-Pity

5. Self-Protection

6. Self-Indulgence

7. Self-Conscious

8. Self-Justification

9. Self-Sufficiency

10. Self-Righteousness

Ugly. I am guilty of every one of those.

And then as I begin to feel not enough, I see I am sinking into #4: Self-Pity. Ugh.

The hardest part of having a relationship with God is all the ugliness is made clear. You’re convicted. But His beauty shines in His truth.

But even with this, I am enough?

Am I enough of a wife? Enough of a mother? Enough of a friend? I don’t feel like it. But if I am enough for God, right here, no-makeup, self-pity party and all, than I should be enough

for everyone else?

Pine_cone

I read a recent article in Life: Beautiful about the pinecone. God’s amazing creation in the pinecone.

It’s spiraled shape, like many of His creations, holds so much incredible detail that it cannot be recreated or explained.

Every pinecone has what is called the Fibonacci sequence.

The sequence is: 0,1,1,2,3,5,8,13,21,34, and so forth. It goes from the base of every pinecone, one spiral grows clockwise and the other grows counterclockwise.

It all works in perfect nature to provide strength and protect the living seed until conditions are just right for germination.

Moreover, in the Fibonacci sequence, if you take the larger number and divide it by the smaller just prior to it, you always get the same number: 1.618.

God’s miracles detail in the pinecone.

I can only think if He puts that much detail into a pinecone, He has put that much care and detail into me. And like the pinecone, no one can explain me or recreate me. And everything on the outside, using God’s armor, will protect the living seed inside.

I am enough, and you are enough. We can always strive to be better, give ourselves to God every day in trust and love – but God made us, every detail. There is so much love in that, that we need to show that same love to ourselves.

Maybe I didn’t think that much of pinecones, but slowing down and taking a look – I see the miracle. I see the miracle in myself.

“He will give a crown of beauty for ashes, a joyous blessings instead of mourning, festive praise instead of despair.” Isaiah 61: 3

One thought on “the miracle of the pinecone

  1. Brittany, I love the balance of this post. We are laced with selfishness and the ugliness of the flesh, but God has created us in his image, rescued us from Sin and designed us for glorious service here and the full brilliance of an eternity with God himself. We can be bogged down by the mixed motives we see even in our best moments, or by faith we can live in the journey of being formed and shaped with incredible purpose.
    I was just reading 2 Corinthians 6:3-10 as Paul reflects on his long life of hardship and accomplishment and I loved his conclusion. “through glory and dishonor, bad report and good report; genuine, yet regarded as impostors; known, yet regarded as unknown; dying, and yet we live on; beaten, and yet not killed; sorrowful, yet always rejoicing; poor, yet making many rich; having nothing, and yet possessing everything. (2 Corinthians 6:8-10 NIV)”
    If the result of our lives is to live in the tension between sorrow and joy and even if we end up poor the net result has been to “make many rich”, then we have lived “possessing everything”!

comments welcome

